Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Become a CBA Member
News & Press: YLS

Six Young Lawyers Win Section Awards

Wednesday, May 30, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Connecticut Bar Association
Share |


Six Young Lawyers Section (YLS) Executive Committee members received awards at the YLS Golf Tournament and Year-end Alumni Event on Wednesday, May 9, at Hawks Landing in Southington.

David A. McGrath, of Louden Katz & McGrath LLC, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedicated service to the YLS and CBA. Attorney McGrath has served in numerous roles, including as a member of the Professionalism Committee, an executive committee member of the Family Law Section, and a coordinator of the CBA's mentorship program. Currently, he serves as the chair-elect of the YLS.


Choity R. Khan, of Howd & Ludorf LLC; Alyssa V. Sherriff, of Brody Wilkson PC; and Alisha N. Sullivan, of Robinson+Cole; received the Stars of the Year Award for their exceptional work as co-chairs of the YLS Women in the Law Committee. Together they planned numerous successful events, including "Every BODY Has Something to Say," a body language and non-verbal cues seminar; Pathways to Leadership for Women Lawyers where former United States Attorney for the District of Connecticut Deirdre M. Daly received the 2018 Ladder Award; and the Annual Women's Professional Golf Event at the Lyman Orchards Golf Club.


Joshua J. Devine, of United Health Group, and Kyle A. McClain, of Zangari Cohn Cuthbertson Duhl & Grello PC, received the Outstanding Achievement Award for their roles as CLE co-directors of the section. Together they helped coordinate 19 CLE seminars, including the Legal Entrepreneur Series. More than 550 legal professionals registered for the YLS seminars during the 2017-2018 bar year.


“A wise former YLS Chair, the incoming CBA President Jon Shapiro, once told me that in order to be a good leader you need reliable and hard working people to support you. I aimed to find those people to achieve my goals as Chair," said YLS Chair Aidan R. Welsh. "These six individuals are examples of success.”




 (L to R) YLS Chair Aidan R.
Welsh with YLS chair-elect
and recipient of the Lifetime
Achievement Award, David
A. McGrath.
(L to R) YLS Chair Aidan R.
Welsh with YLS Women in the
Law Committee co-chair and
recipient of the Star of the Year
Award, Choity R. Khan. Additional
winners not pictured are Alyssa V.
Sherriff and Alisha N. Sullivan.
 (L to R) YLS Chair Aidan R.
Welsh with YLS CLE co-director
recipient of the Outstanding
Achievement Award, Joshua J.
Devine. Additional winner not
is Kyle A. McClain.